Fiancé Friday: Ashley and Justin

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love, getting engaged and getting married! Meet Ashley and Justin.

Justin and I met through mutual friends when we were 15 years old. We were always friends but we did not date seriously until senior year, which has lasted until now! We had been together almost five years before he popped the question, and if you ask me that was five years to long! I would have married him the day we graduated high school; however Justin, being the more practical one, knew it was in our best interest to wait. I hate to say it, but he was right. We have become so much stronger as the years have gone on.


Justin asked me to marry him on May 25th of this year, which is actually my birthday!

We had planned on going hiking at Hocking Hills State Park for my birthday, which Justin let me think was my idea. When we got there, Justin said that he wanted to start by this waterfall. We hiked to the waterfall, which took about five minutes, and then Justin said that we had to go on. He would later tell me that this was because there was way to many people around the waterfall to ask there.

We continued on the path for about another five minutes when he pulled me off the beaten path onto a cliff that overlooked the waterfall that we had just passed. He told me he was extremely thirsty so he dug around in the book bag for what I thought was water. Little did I know he was looking for the ring box.

Right there on the side of the cliff, my best friend explained that God had always brought our paths back together and that he promised to always love and fight for me if I would marry him. Of course I said yes! After the actual proposal we continued to hike for another two hours or so. It was extremely special because we were completely out of cell phone range. This meant that for those two hours, our engagement was our own little secret. He was able to tell me all the details and plans he had been working on for about a month with my sister, and I was able to ask all the questions about what he already had planned for our future.


Once we left Hocking Hills, we went home and got dressed up so that I could attend a surprise engagement party that he had planned with all our family and friends. He knew how important those close to us were in our relationship and he knew I would want to spend this day with them. I have never felt so loved or appreciated by someone than I did that day. It was truly the best day of our lives so far! We will be getting married next May!

Leave a Reply

