Fiancé Friday: Matt and Hope

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love, getting engaged and getting married! Meet Matt and Hope.

As told by Matt.

Hope and I were first acquainted with one another on an early morning on August 29th of 2015. We met through a dating site that neither one of us really had any business being on, but God led us to it and to one another. When I first saw Hope’s picture I thought, “Dang, she’s cute…and she likes Jesus and The Office.” We messaged each other back and forth for a few weeks through texting and Snapchat (#millennials).
  After weeks of texting and getting to know one another, we met for dinner, putt-putt, and pear eating (homegirl had never had a pear before). We also went to Barnes and Noble where I read her a children’s book on a “story time stage”. I was super nervous during the date which I expressed by saying, “I’m pretty nervous, are you nervous?”, and by shaking Hope’s hand instead of going in for a hug. Hope and I later on sat in my car and talked for a little more than an hour. We talked about life, our pasts, our futures, and our relationships with Jesus. I felt a bond with Hope ever since that moment and that is when I believe I started to fall in love with her. After our conversation, I wasn’t eager at all to ask her on a second date. I waited a whole 5 minutes after we went our separate ways to ask her to go out again. 


   We then dated for about a month before I formally asked Hope to be my girlfriend. As we continued in our relationship, we grew closer and closer. We didn’t get to see each other a lot because I was teaching/coaching and she was working/owning businesses, but that made our get togethers that much more special. As I got to know Hope more, I realized how special she was. Hope is an extremely hard worker and is a very determined entrepreneur. But more than that, she does these things with the utmost love and sincerity. In everything she does, she puts so much thought, kindness, and love behind it. Her love is like nothing I’ve ever seen before in a person. It is unselfish, patient, and always kind. Her love is what I believe Christ wanted when He spoke of loving others. This is what made me fall in complete love with her and what made me want to ask her to be my wife. 


   I popped the question on June 12, 2016. It was our eight month anniversary and we had planned on eating and then looking at books at Barnes and Noble for my upcoming knee surgery. We went to Barnes and Noble and I told her I had to go get something, which is when I went to fetch a book I wrote describing our love story and the ring. I proposed to Hope after reading the book to her on the stage like I did on our first date. When she said yes, I had to ask her a couple more times if she had actually said yes because I was so nervous. When I woke up from my nervous state, I became a very happy man.


   Hope and I have been engaged for five days now. I am so happy I get to spend the rest of my life with such a special woman whom I consider my best friend. I thank God everyday for us meeting and for our relationship. I love Hope very much and will do so for the rest of my life!

Leave a Reply

