Fiance Friday: Andrew and Abbie

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love, getting engaged and getting married! Meet Andrew and Abbie.


Story as told by Andrew

This past fall, one of my best friends and one of her best friends got married where Abbie was a bridesmaid in the wedding. We caught each others’ eye out on the dance floor at the reception and I was completely oblivious to her flirting with me.

When I left the reception, one of our mutual friends clued me in to the fact that Abbie was interested in me and gave me her phone number. Two days later we went on our first date, and I knew she was something special. We’ve been together for almost a year now, and as we like to say, “When you know, you know, you know?”

12645173_10203910753649387_5943591138871816354_n

On May 14th, I took Abbie on a surprise date¬†knowing I was going to propose, but keeping it a secret from her. She normally really tries to pry info out of me, but this time I wouldn’t budge and I kept the date a secret. As I parked at our first destination, I shared with her that we would be going to the Botanical Gardens. She didn’t know it at the time, but I chose to propose to her at the Botanical Gardens because my grandma volunteered there for twenty years. I have a lot of special memories with her, and wanted to include her in our day, knowing she was there with us in spirit.

I brought her to a coy pond in the rain forest room that I visited a lot with my grandma, and as she turned around, I was on one knee, asking her to marry me. We had a hidden photographer there to capture the moment to make our day even more special. Then, following the proposal, I asked the two of our families to gather at my house for a celebratory dinner.

We are so excited to see what the next chapter of our life together holds, and to see what the future has in store for us!

13235104_10204533830265913_970164148201991786_o13227610_10204533831225937_8038580132648894510_o

Photography: Schone Photography

Leave a Reply

