Fiance Friday: Jasmine and Gerald

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love, getting engaged and getting married! Meet Jasmine and Gerald.


Love Story

Gerald and I met in high school when he was a senior and I was a sophomore. I was friends with his cousin, which is how Gerald got my number! We began talking and not too long afterwards, we were dating.

At that time, my parents understandably wanted me to focus on school, so I wasn’t allowed to have a boyfriend. Of course, I had to find ways to still see him! For my junior year prom, of course I wanted Gerald to be my date, so my parents had to meet him. They loved him! And from that point on, they absolutely loved him and he became part of the family.┬áIt didn’t take long for me to fall in love with him – he has the biggest heart! I just loved how sweet he was – always opening car doors for me, random flowers delivered to work “just because”, and can’t forget all of the foot massages!

After six years together, we knew that we wanted to spend the rest of our lives together. Last September, Gerald joined the Air Force and left for basic training. It was a challenging time for us both because we could only communicate by letters. But we made it through and from then on, we knew we could get through anything.

The Proposal

Gerald came home six months later after graduating basic training and finishing his technical school. He told me that he wanted to get engaged, but he needed to save up for a ring and to get is finances together. I was ready, but I understood. In the back of my head, I still thought he would propose soon though! (My birthday is in March and our six year anniversary was in April – but he didn’t ask at either of those landmarks). I told myself that it will happen when it happens and to be patient!

On May 8th, 2016, I graduated from IUPUI. There were two ceremonies that day – a big one at Lucas Oil with all IUPUI graduates and a smaller ceremony at the convention center with just my major. A lot of my family, friends, and Gerald’s family were all there for me, but I didn’t think anything of it because I knew that I wouldn’t miss my graduation for the world. Little did I know there was a huge surprise for me as I walked off the stage!

As my name was called, I couldn’t contain my excitement after all of my hard work to earn my degree. As I walked down the stairs to get off the stage, Gerald was right there down on one knee asking me to marry him! My heart jumped and tears filled my eyes as I said “yes!” I just wrapped my arms around him and could hear all of the cheers from the audience! He put the beautiful ring on my finger, gave me a bouquet of roses and I walked back to my seat. I felt like a dream! The most perfect day of my life and I couldn’t ask for a better man to spend the rest of my life with.

jasmine and gerland3

jasmine and gerald2

 

Leave a Reply

