Fiance Friday: Hannah and Parker

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love, getting engaged and getting married! Meet Hannah and Parker.

How They Met

The first time Parker and I met, we were on our way home from a high school church retreat. Elevate at Camp Lake Ann Michigan 2007, it was an awesome trip with gorgeous winter views. I spent most of my time with my friends and Parker did the same with his, but on the bus ride home something not so magical happened. I had fallen asleep, like I always do on long car rides. It may have been exhaustion from little sleep and many emotional highs of the trip, but before I knew it my friend Erin was waking me up saying that some boy was taking pictures of me sleeping and telling the entire bus to go and take a look at me… sleeping with my eyes open. After that, he sat next to me and we got to talking. The conversation started with several apologies and kind words from him. The bus ride ended with him getting my number and each of us heading home.

Over the course of the next couple of months, we starting hanging out with the same group of friends that we had gone to Elevate with and got to know each other a little better. By March, we went on our first date. The date ended with me asking him to prom, because I was a junior at the time while he was a sophomore. To which he responded, “Wooooo! Yes! Will you be my girlfriend?”

We dated all through high school and college. High school is where we got to know each other and what we each had our sights set on for the future, but college is where our future together was tested in every way. By 2009 Parker was up at Purdue while I took classes at IUPUI. We were each working toward our career degrees and trying to make time to meet up in person every few weeks at least to see each other more than just on a screen. It was really tough being apart, but the time we had each spent growing up at college, helped prepare us for where we are now. Although, I’m getting ahead of myself.

208419_1005092725156_1299_n

The Proposal

In 2011 Parker decided to plan a day trip together with some of our closest friends to Chicago, I hadn’t ever been before. What I thought was just a fun day trip with my friends, turned out to be one of the happiest days of my life. Parker planned the whole thing out, from getting our friends to come spend the day with us, and asking permission from my dad, to making sure that no one let it slip for months. He planned the whole day around what he thought I’d enjoy most.Parker planned to pop the question during pictures at Millenium Park, hoping that it would make for cute pictures. I’m sure he also hoped for a shriek of joy and surprise, or a “Yes! Yes! A thousand times yes!,” or even tears, but instead he got, “Shut up! Shut up! Is this real life? Shut up!”

327252_2190058708565_379682_o
Photo: Tonya Wittig Photography

Marriage

We were married on June 6th 2014, and our second wedding anniversary is coming up. We were together for 7 years before we were married, because of our relationship timeline, and being together yet apart through a big chunk of our relationship it has made our marriage all the more interesting. I did (and still am) dating my husband to know the man that he is now in contrast to the boy I had all the feelings for in high school.

What hasn’t changed about him? His compassion, thoughtfulness, humor, and love still astounds me. I love laughing with him and doing life with him that leads to the stories and memories we share. I look forward to many more adventures with him, my high school sweetheart, hubby, and best friend.

10333253_10152215978798111_5715089503583194882_o
Photo: Wyant Photography
Leave a Reply

