Fiance Friday: Jordan and Spencer

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love and getting engaged! Hear their stories from each of their perspectives. Meet Jordan and Spencer.

HOW WE MET:

Jordan: Spencer and I met in middle school while we were at church camp. I guess what they say isn’t true – sometimes camp relationships do work out! One night at dinner, my friend and I spotted a tall, tan, good-looking fella standing in the cafeteria line. She courageously asked him to join us for dinner. Truth be told, we had actually thought that he was a camp counselor (the facial hair threw us off!) and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we were wrong.

I later found out that Spencer had “a thing” for me at camp – he even tries to claim that I turned him down… though I don’t remember those details. What I do know is that that week at camp was the start of a friendship that ended up being the foundation of our relationship. Even though Spencer never returned to camp as a camper and we lived three hours apart, we kept in contact and remained friends throughout all of high school. In fact, it was Spencer that encouraged me to check out Indiana Wesleyan University (where I go to school). I’m convinced there were some hidden motives there! During the second semester of my freshman year at college, we started dating… and the rest is history!

Spencer: I can remember going to a middle school church camp as a 14 year old and seeing a tall, cute girl wearing a Greensboro Grasshoppers t-shirt. Her and her friend approached me while I stood in line for dinner one evening asking if I would like to eat with them. Apparently I “looked like a counselor.” What a great intro into a conversation! I thought Jordan was cute, but she wasn’t so keen on the idea at the time.

That week, we began a lifelong journey together as young teenagers. We lived three hours away, but there are many times that I remember having long conversations with her – on the house phone at that! Fast forward nine years to this coming June and the cute girl in the Greensboro Grasshoppers t-shirt who wasn’t really into me, will become my wife. I’m not sure where I would be without the Victory Mountain Camp.

JordanandSpencer


 

THE PROPOSAL:

Jordan: I had one request for my 21st birthday: a picnic. Spencer, honoring my request, took me to the battleship overlooking downtown Wilmington, North Carolina. He carried with him a picnic basket, homemade sandwiches, and a blanket – what a stud! Right before we broke into the picnic basket, Spencer suggested that we do a little something that we had done several times on past dates. We would each go separate ways and take a few photos of things around us that represented our relationship at that time. It has been fun to see how different photos we have taken are symbolic of different times in our relationship! When we came back together, Spencer had a picture of a note he had written me and a picture of an empty ring box. He then proceeded to get down on one knee… needless to say, it was the best day of my life!

Spencer: I had been planning this day for at least six months. I knew exactly what I wanted to do and where I wanted to do it. We had done photo scavenger hunts on a few different dates as my attempt at “cheap dates.” The idea was that each of us would spend time taking three different photos that reminded us of our relationship and then share them with one another. So, of course, the engagement had to be done outside. Well, wouldn’t you know it that on June 27th, the day I was going to propose, the entire sky fell out and it poured down rain all day long! However, with lots of prayer, and asking the Lord to pull back the clouds, it cleared up just enough for us to have our picnic and for me to be able to ask the biggest question of my life. So, we got to the battleship overlooking Wilmington and we each did our scavenger hunt. She went first with sentimental photos- that really set the tone! Then I began to share. Tears, hugs, kisses, and photos later, Jordan said yes to being my lifelong partner. I can’t wait for the cute girl in the Greensboro Grasshoppers t-shirt to become my wife!

12899526_1099890653365691_154653672_o

 

We are so excited for Jordan and Spencer to start their lives together! Congrats again to the both of you!

 

Browse Lend the Love‘s website to rent, buy and sell evey thing wedding directly to and from others in your community! Easily search based on keyword, theme, price or location and conveniently pay directly through the website. Less hassle. A more beautiful, cost effective wedding.

 

Top Photo: Ruth Wooster

Leave a Reply

