Fiance Friday: Cassie and Josh

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love and getting engaged! Meet Cassie and Josh.


Love Story

Josh and I met in our church’s high school youth group. We knew of each other for a couple of years, but did not become friends until later. My first memory of Josh was seeing him on one of the fall retreats. During one of the personal devotional times, I passed by him and noticed how completely focused he was on his Bible. I remember thinking to myself that I wanted to marry a man like him one day. I had no idea what God had in store for us!

The summer following that fall retreat, we both happened to be going on a mission trip to Poland with our youth group. We started hanging out more as we went to meetings and fundraising events. I knew going into the trip that I definitely liked him and I was pretty sure he felt the same way about me (although I wasn’t so sure after our “first date”…but that’s a different story). Needless to say, my mind wasn’t totally focused on the trip during our time in Poland and shortly after we got back, we started dating.

The Proposal

CassieJosh12

Fast forward through four years of college and long distance dating to October 23, 2015. I was in Grand Rapids for the weekend for fall break, and it seemed like any other day together – coffee date, errands, dinner plans, etc. He told me that his parents had asked him to run an errand for them and pick up something from a family friend’s farm. When we pulled up to the barn and walked inside, I was stunned to find lots of candles and lights, pictures of us, and the most adorable handmade decorations (pictures under photos section). He sat me down on some quilt-covered hay bales, got down on one knee, and asked me to spend forever with him! I cried and said yes excessively through my tears. We can’t wait to see what our marriage holds and to make a lifetime of memories together!

(Seriously, they’re adorable)

Pictures: Shadow Shine Pictures

 

Leave a Reply

