Fiance Friday: Kyle and Eleny

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love and getting engaged and married! Meet Kyle and Eleny.


 

Love Story

I heard about Kyle through mutual friends before I met him. I don’t remember much about when we met; I just remember it was in the lobby of my freshman dorm (he doesn’t remember when we first met at all). We shared the same friend group and, therefore, became friends. I never thought of him as more than that, and neither did he until our sophomore year. Although, he told me he always thought I was cute (awwww). We came back from summer break and started hanging out more, cause that’s what friends do, right? My friends were telling me I should date Kyle, unknown to him. And unknown to me, his friends were telling him he should date me. We said we were just friends, but then something happened, and we both started liking each other as more than friends.

The night before my 20th birthday, Kyle walked me back to my dorm and nervously told me he liked me and wanted to date me. Happy birthday to me! A few weeks later, Kyle had a chat with my dad and asked him for his permission to date me. A whole lot of growing, learning and laughing happened in a year and a half of dating that prepared us for our future together. Thursday, June 26, 2014, my family had Chinese takeout for dinner. Ironically, my fortune read, “An unexpected event will soon make your life more exciting.” I asked my parents (who had been keeping the secret for a MONTH), “Does this mean Kyle is proposing soon?!” I was so close to ruining the biggest surprise of my life that would happen the next day. Luckily, my parents kept a straight face.

Earlier in the week, my mom suggested that we go up to St. Joe, Michigan on Friday night to walk on the beach and eat at our favorite pizza restaurant. I didn’t think anything of it since we went to St. Joe often. But, deep down I hoped that Kyle would propose then. Friday, June 27, 2014, I told my mom, “Wouldn’t it be so amazing if Kyle surprised me and proposed in St. Joe?” I almost ruined it again. I took my time getting ready to leave for St. Joe, and little did I know my poor soon-to-be-fiancé was sitting out in the sun on the hot sand in 80-degree weather. Ooops.

We got to the beach, and I did a quick scan of the parking lot to see if Kyle’s car was there just to be sure. I didn’t see it, but my dad did and distracted me without knowing I was being distracted. We walked a bit down the beach, and I saw a guy standing in the distance holding something shiny that looked like a balloon from a distance. We got closer, and I realized the guy was holding a bouquet of pink and cream garden roses, had the biggest smile on his face, and WAS MY BOYFRIEND. I ran to him and yelled, “SHUT UP!” in Princess Diaries fashion. The rest was a bit of a blur.

He led me up to an area where he had “Forever Like That” by Ben Rector, the song I wanted to be our first dance song playing on speakers. I started getting choked up as he got down on one knee and said some really sweet things that I don’t quite remember. My best friend asked me to marry him, and I said YES! Then I kept exclaiming, “Is this real life?!” It was perfect. I wanted a private proposal; he got me gorgeous flowers, had one of my favorite songs playing, included my parents and asked my dad for permission. And he proposed in a place where we had shared so many memories while we were dating. After he put a stunning ring on my finger, we met my parents for pizza, and I couldn’t stop smiling the whole time.

On the way home, I FaceTimed some close friends, and we screamed together. That day was the second best day ever. Our best day ever happened on May 24, 2015. We have had more wonderful days than not-so-wonderful days and even though we’ve only been married less than nine months, marriage keeps getting better than I could’ve ever imagined.

Photo Credit: Miranda Coralyn Photography & Josef Samuel Photography

Leave a Reply

