Fiance Friday: Aaron and Kelly

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love and getting engaged! Meet Aaron and Kelly.


 

Love Story

Aaron and I met when we were in middle school – he was the kid in Sunday School class who always picked on me. Come to find out, that was his middle school way of flirting. We grew closer and closer as friends and were best friends throughout junior high and high school. Being one year younger than me, Aaron didn’t come to college until my sophomore year.

When he got to college, our friendship only grew stronger and my friends always commented on the fact that they didn’t understand why we weren’t dating yet. I was convinced we were just “best friends!” Well… he asked me on a date one day and my friends got to say, “I told you so.”

After a couple weeks of “dating,” or at least acknowledging that maybe we were more than just best friends, he asked me to be his girlfriend and I said yes through a huge grin and probably some nervous giggles. I didn’t know it was possible to get much closer to him, but within the next two years, Aaron and I grew past the point of best friends. We knew we wanted to spend our lives together, growing even more inseparable and constantly thanking God for bringing us together.

The Proposal

Last summer, I accepted an internship down in North Carolina, so we experienced long-distance for the first time. He came down from Indiana to visit me, and I had a whole weekend planned for us. We went to an amusement park (one of me and Aaron’s FAVORITE things to do together), and then went to see my favorite band, Rascal Flatts. On Sunday we went hiking in the mountains. At the top of the mountain, Aaron asked a stranger to take our picture. I thought he was just taking a picture of us standing there looking cute…. But really he was taking a picture of Aaron getting down on one knee and asking me to be his wife!

He proposed on the top of a mountain… Doesn’t seem like it could get any better – but it does! My favorite part of the proposal was the personal touch. Since seventh grade, I have been collecting gum wrappers. Freshman year of college, I decided to start praying for my future husband each time I added wrappers to my collection, and I had decided I was going to incorporate them in my wedding somehow. Before Aaron got down on one knee, he gave me a handful of wrappers HE had been collecting and writing on from memorable points of our relationship – all the way back to our first date. The last one said “I Proposed!” ❤
We are getting married in June and then moving down to North Carolina, because I actually got a job at the same place I interned! We cannot wait to move back to the place we got engaged. Praise the Lord for His blessings and guidance!

IMG_2525

Photo Credit: Amanda Couser
Thank you Kelly and Aaron for sharing your story! As always, if you are looking for or looking to sell/ rent anything wedding, head over to www.lendthelove.com to buy, rent and sell!

Leave a Reply

