Fiance Friday: Morgan and Ben

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love and getting engaged! Meet Morgan and Ben.


 

When I started my first week of college, I went in with the mindset that I wouldn’t be getting married. Well, little did I know, one week later I would change my mind. I walked into our school rec center, and sitting at the desk was a beautiful young woman with a big purple bow on top of her head. For me, the rest was history. I knew from day one, this was the girl I was to marry. Unfortunately for me, this was going to take a little work in my heart, and more than a little work on her.

 
I happened to discover one of the guys I lived with was a best friend to Morgan. We went to a soccer game that fall, and spend some time doing homework, but that winter break would be one of the most difficult of my life. I knew in my heart she was the one I wanted to marry, but I also was afraid I wouldn’t be what she needed in a relationship. I decided to bring our relationship to a screeching halt, and that was a fatal mistake- or so I thought. Over the course of the next 4 months, God was working on my heart, and in hers. I still tried to pursue her, but it took a lot more effort than before. I continually prayed and pursued Morgan, and I worked to win her heart over.

Finally, after multiple attempts, we went on our first date. After a few short outings, summer came, and we were 4 hours apart for the duration of the summer. All summer I prayed and hoped that Morgan had a changed of heart. August rolled around, and I decided to ask her officially to be my girlfriend, if she would give me the chance. A wonderful year followed, and she and I grew to love each other more.

Exactly one year to the date later, I planned a 400-mile scavenger hunt, ending at a lighthouse. Lighthouses are Morgan’s favorite, and she told me once she wanted to hunt for lighthouses all around the country. Before I got down on one knee, I told her this: “Even if we have hardships in our relationship, and it feels like we won’t survive the storm, we know that Christ will be our lighthouse, and guide us back to shore”. I then asked her to marry me. Now, I am excited to say that this coming December 18th, I can take my best friend as my wife.

MorganandBen2

Photo credit: Hannah Elisabeth Photography

One thought on “Fiance Friday: Morgan and Ben

Leave a Reply

