Fiance Friday: Hallie and Tyler

We love love and we want to share stories from real couples falling in love and getting engaged! Meet Hallie and Tyler.


 

How They Met

Tyler and I crossed paths in the beginning of September of 2013, at a time I least expected it. I was sitting outside, curled up in a blanket with my hair obnoxiously tied up on top of my head with a purple 80s scrunchie, studying for an anatomy exam. I remember looking up from my textbook to momentarily clear my mind, and in the midst of all the people that surrounded me, my eyes fell upon a boy playing the guitar with a contagious smile. Even though he was a complete stranger, my heart felt like it had met an old friend. Moments later, the boy with guitar came over to where I was studying and introduced himself to the group of people that had joined me. I discovered that his name was Tyler, he was from Chicago, and all I could do was smile and blush nervously. I had forgotten how to speak. He claims that I never exactly looked up from my book, but I would like to think that it wasn’t as awkward as he made it seem.

A few days later, Tyler spotted me on campus and asked if he could share my table to work on an assignment. I could feel myself turning tomato-red, but I couldn’t resist. Our encounter turned into four hours of sharing our thoughts, our quirks, and our passions. I loved every minute of it, and it was that very next day that I received my first letter in my mailbox from Tyler expressing his desire to pursue me. I found a new letter in my mailbox every single day for the next few months of our relationships. I now have well over two hundred handwritten letters; they are one of my most treasured items.

The Proposal

We began dating on October 1, 2013 and, almost two years later, on July 5, 2015, Tyler asked me to be his wife in the Chicago Botanic Gardens.

One of Ty’s favorite things is photography. So, he had told me that we were going to the Chicago Botanic Gardens to photograph a family friend’s two little boys. I was never suspicious because I noticed that the mother’s name was in his “recently called” list (I later found out that this is because he changed the photographer’s contact name to the “mom’s” name… clever!) When we were scouting out locations within the facility, I came across a mailbox with my name on it. I was apprehensive at first to open it because I didn’t think it was for me, but Tyler insisted. When I reached inside, I found a letter with my name on it. Tyler read it to me and as he said the last few words, he got down on one knee and proposed. I was completely caught off guard! I even remember saying, “are there even any little boys to take pictures of?” He had my old Resident Assistant, who is a photographer, secretly there to take pictures of the entire moment as it unfolded.

Afterward, he surprised me with dinner at Trifecta Grille and had organized it so that my parents from Ohio, his family, and our closest friends could be there too! We are getting married on July 31, 2016 in Sandusky, Ohio and are honeymooning for a week in Prague, Czech Republic.

Hallie&Tyler-33

Leave a Reply

